After purchasing a new Homey device, you can migrate your settings from the one you've been using previously. Doing so is straightforward, so take a look at how to get it done yourself.
Note: This functionality is available as of Homey v4.0.
- Create a backup on the Homey you'd like to replace by navigating to
Create a backup. Read more about how to create a backup.
- Turn off the original Homey. This is important because two Homeys with the same settings might conflict.
- Initiate the Wi-Fi Setup on the new Homey Bridge or Homey Pro. After connecting this Homey device to your Wi-Fi network, you will be asked if you want to restore a backup on your new Homey Bridge or Homey Pro.
After migrating, you must log in again to all 3rd party services where you've logged in with your Homey account, e.g. Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa, and IFTTT. This ensures the services keep working correctly.
Why do I need to power off the old Homey?
Z-Wave and Zigbee, two wireless protocols that Homey uses, create their own internal mesh networks to manage the devices. These networks can only have one Homey in them to control everything. Having two of them with the same network details will likely cause conflicts. To be sure, you can reset the old Homey to factory settings afterward.
Zigbee devices not responding after restoring a backup
Warning: Due to the inner workings of the Zigbee protocol, it might happen that some Zigbee devices do not respond after restoring a backup.
Shortly disconnect the power from these devices, and they'll be working again in no time.